

Yukon Conservation Society Annual General Meeting March 24, 2022

Format: The meeting was held via Zoom. Minutes taken by Board Secretary Gerald Haase; votes counted by Debborah Donnelly and Gerald Haase.

2021 Board Members Present:

- Mary Amerongen
- Gerald Haase
- Ghislain De Laplante
- Caitlynn Beckett
- Yuuri Daiku
- Kim Melton
- YCS members in attendance:
- Dr. Azmy F. Aboulazm
- Karen Baltgailis
- Jim Boyde
- Wenda Bradley
- Ross Burnet
- Meagan Christie
- Paul Davis
- Max Fraser

YCS staff in attendance:

	0	
٠	Sue Greetham	

Georgia Greetham

- Janet Horton
- Rowan Hubbard
- Danica Jeffery
- Tom McBee
- Karen McKenna

- Rebecca Rothgeb
- regrets: Lyndi Proudfoot
- Larkin Miller-Wright
- Lenore Morris
- JP Pinard
- Alison Reid
- Walter Streit
- Katherine Villemaire
- Sally Wright
- Skeeter Wright

Coral Voss	Lewis Rifkind	Eric Labrecque
Debborah Donnelly	Sebastian Jones	Kirsten Reid
Joan Norberg	Scott Pressnail	Clément Richard

Chair: Meagan Christie

- 1. Welcome and Introductions (7:55 p.m.)
- 2. Quorum verification: we have quorum.
- 3. Review and Approval of the Agenda

Kim Melton moved to approve the agenda. Yuuri Daiku seconded the motion and the agenda was approved and accepted.

4. Review and Approval of last year's AGM minutes (March 31, 2021) and SGM minutes (April 28, 2021)

Gerald Haase moved to approve 2021 AGM & SGM minutes; Kim Melton seconded. Last year's AGM and SGM minutes were approved.

Laurel Miller



5. Executive Director's Report:

Coral summarized her Annual Report. Major points of the report:

- Recognition of the excellent work of our staff, including new staff Scott Pressnail and Kirsten Reid, and Helmut Grunberg conservation intern Toshibaa Govindaraj
- Stable funding
- The 10th anniversary of Created in the Canyon!
- The ETS program has 43 participants and 32 installations at this time
- The release, in 2021, of our new 5-year Strategic plan
- YCS participated in 3 Yukon Water Board (YWB) processes and 29 YESAB applications
- Contributions to the ongoing development of the Yukon Wetlands Policy, as well as to the YWB's efforts to address wetlands disturbance in water license applications, and to the Dawson Regional Land Use Plan (DRLUP), as well as co-leading two community engagement sessions for the DRLUP.
- Continued involvement in the development of Yukon's new Clean Energy Act

6. Presidents Report:

Kim presented the report on behalf of herself and Mary Amerongen, who served as President for the bulk of the term. Major points:

- Preparation of new bylaws to bring YCS in line with the new YG Societies Act (Note: these new bylaws were accepted at the SGM immediately prior to this AGM.)
- Final approval of the 2021-2025 Strategic Plan in May
- Finalizing and approving a Reconciliation Statement
- Ongoing development of board capacity, including a TREC session on board governance, a planned workshop on reconciliation for initially staff and then board members. Also work on internal structuring, forming standing committees and revising/approving policies to ensure better continuity between boards and clarity of processes relating to human resources
- Climate Crisis Committee forming; funding still required
- Caribou Habitat position paper, thanks to Sebastian

7. Presentation & Approval of 2021 Financial Statements:

Joan presented the Audited Financial Statements.

The Electric Thermal Storage (ETS) program constitutes a significant proportion of our expenses and revenue, as we received a large part of our funding this year as well as having dispersed these funds for the purchase and installation of the ETS units.

Motion to approve 2021 Financial Statements: Paul Davis moved, Max Fraser seconded. None opposed; Motion Carried.

8. Motion to Appoint M. McKay & Associates as the Accountant for the 2022 Fiscal Year

Yuuri moved to appoint and Kim seconded. None opposed; Motion Carried.

9. Election of Directors



Yukon Conservation Society

Two prospective directors were absent due to other commitments but had indicated their willingness to serve if elected: Lyndi Proudfoot and Nadja Smith Hanson.

Meagan thanked current and outgoing board members for their service to YCS.

Kim clarified that some terms will be one year, and some will be two-year terms, and that we will need at least six members and a maximum of twelve, according to our new bylaws.

Meagan (chair of election) nominated current board members standing for re-election:

Yuuri Daiku (accepted); Kim seconded,

Ghislain DeLaplante (accepted); Gerald seconded,

Gerald Haase (accepted); Skeeter seconded,

Kim Melton (accepted); Yuuri seconded,

Lyndi Proudfoot (accepted); Yuuri seconded,

Rebecca Rothgeb (accepted); Gerald seconded.

In addition,

Tom McBee was nominated by Gerald (accepted); Kim seconded,

Nadja Smith Hanson was nominated by Gerald (accepted); Kim seconded,

Danica Jeffery was nominated by Gerald (accepted); Kim seconded,

Skeeter Wright was nominated by Nesha Wright (accepted); seconded by Laurel Miller, Azmy F. Aboulazm was nominated by Gerald; however, near the end of the meeting Gerald received communication from Dr. Aboulazm that he had withdrawn his application due to sudden work and family commitments.

After short introductions by each prospective board member, Meagan called a second and third time for nominations from the floor. With no additional nominations, votes were held for each candidate and each candidate was voted in as board members. Thanks to incoming Board Members for your service to YCS!

10. Other business

There was no other business brought up.

11. Adjournment

Kim Melton moved to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 9:03 p.m.